Hello Everybody,

I welcome you to my blog.

My name is Lathen Gorbett.  I have been an Oregon resident for most of life, and have come to really love Portland, the Northwest, the outdoors, and the wacky liberalism that is so predominant in the Willamette Valley.  As much as I often times think that I have a real grasp of what’s going on with human nature and on the way the world works, I have come to realize that the best ways to understand something is to experience it, to question it, to doubt it and to be humble to the discoveries that can take place through the exploration of it.  It is for this reason that I have decided to start this blog.  As a way for me to learn more about what the world has to offer, and to bring as many people along with me as possible.  I am not a writer, nor am I an expert on any of the subjects that will be discussed, but I hope that with enough diverse participation that we may all become more enlightened.

This is my attempt to bring people together in order to have encouraging discussions about topics that are often times divisive, but that I believe have the possibility of enhancing peace and democracy.  This can be done by shifting away from the discouraging rhetoric that has clouded the mainstream media, and into a civil engagement of ideas, opinions, experiences, personal understandings, values and legitimate concerns.

There are so many things in this world that have the power and the prerequisite qualifications to be highly divisive, even to the point of wanting to take another person’s life, but it seems so clear that the topics that we see people fighting over on Fox and CNN are strictly for entertainment purposes and that they serve very little sense of civic leadership or informing the public.  There is an accelerating depletion of objectivity in our “news” media, and a growing demand for dramatic “infotainment.”  The problem is:  these are important issues that they are playing around with…and they are real.

So, please join me in building constructive dialog that can help us all gain a better understanding of what is happening in the world around us.  The easiest thing we can do is to listen to the pundits, and accept their words as fact.  Or…we can dig a little deeper and find out what is really important to each of us so that we may better server the world, its citizens and the communities within it.

If there is one thing that I have learned from my experiences as an American citizen, its that, even with all of the great people out there, it is far too easy to find enemies.  Let’s work on creating more alliances.

Thank you,

Lathen

